Wilburn Burchette – Guitar Grimoire (1973)

June 25, 2013 § Leave a comment


Moments of this remind me of Willie Lanes album Recliner Ragas. Really really good.

Get it here

Daniel Lecht – Fireheart/Fireriver Music for Guitars 6 & 12 String Solos & Collaborations (1977)

June 25, 2013 § 2 Comments









Found this on Ebay, Seems to be self released. Get a load of that album art. Pretty decent record too.

Get it here

Mark Lang – Texas John Boscoe

June 25, 2013 § Leave a comment


Had a hard time acquiring a copy of this record. Really great guitar soli music in the vein of Leo Kotke or John Fahey. Brother of Takoma guitarist Peter Lang. Recorded at Sound 80 studio.

Get it here

Madlib Medicine Show #7: High Jazz

April 15, 2011 § Leave a comment

Pre-order for 3LP and CD. Expected release date: July 27.

Madlib Medicine Show #7: High Jazz is an all-new Madlib jazz production. High Jazz, the name itself a tribute to the landmark jazz-fusion album released by Stanton Davis’s Ghetto Mysticism in 1976, shows a marked development in Madlib’s craft.

Since the introduction of Madlib’s Yesterdays New Quintet releases nearly a decade ago, the producer’s core group of musicians and collaborators (known collectively as “Yesterdays Universe”) has grown by the dozens. The notoriously elusive, publicity-shy and anti-commercial ethic of the group has kept many of the recordings from every being released, while others have been pressed anonymously, kept within the group or distributed only among private collectors.

Among the newly released tracks on High Jazz are a Madlib, Karriem Riggins & James Poyser collaboration, the debut of groups Generation Match, The Big Black Foot Band, RMC, and a 15-minute live piece by Yesterdays New Quintet (recorded at a secret show in 2000). The 15-track album runs a total of 61 minutes.

Limited edition 3-disc vinyl: Madlib has collected an additional 30 minutes of music for the limited edition vinyl release of High Jazz. These tracks are not available on the CD or digital release. Album covers will be hand screened by Hit+Run with a design by Jeff Jank, and individually numbered. See photos below.

Album track list:

1. The Jackson Conti Band – Steppin’ Into Tomorrow (Prelude)
2. Generation Match – Electronic Dimensions
3. Jahari Massamba Unit – Pretty Eyes
4. The Kenny Cook Octet – High Jazz
5. Yesterdays New Quintet – Medley: Don’t You Worry Bout A Thing (Live At Spear for The Moondog)
6. Interlude
7. The Big Black Foot Band, feat. The Black Spirits – Reality or Dream
8. Russell Jenkins Jazz Express – Drunk Again
9. Poyser, Riggins & Jackson – Funky Butt, Part 1 (MP3)
10. Jahari Massamba Unit – Wonderin’/Nightime
11. R.M.C. – Space & Time
12. Yesterdays New Quintet – Conquistador
13. The Big Black Foot Band, feat. The Black Spirits – Tarzan’s Theme
14. Interlude
15. Joe McDuphrey Experience – Kimo

Bonus LP track list:

1. Jahari Masamba Unit – Falling
2. Yesterdays New Quintet – Runnin’ Fast (On The Runs)
3. Sound Directions, feat. Malcolm Catto – Shady Cops
4. The Eddie Prince Fusion Band – The Struggle Is Over/Next Chapter
5. O.D. – Wasted (Themes Variations)

Dibiase – Machines Hate me

April 15, 2011 § Leave a comment

“Debut full length LP steez from LA’s Dibiase, following impressive drops for Fat City and All City records. Those releases called for comparisons with Madlib, Dilla and a whole heap of slump-funked producers who’re taking inspiration from ’80s boogiesoul and computer games; the ambient sound of half-remembered innocence. With these influences and adjuncts in mind Dibiase gives fifteen tracks of staggered MPC beats, perhaps erring more towards the electronic and ADD-afflicted style of Flying Lotus or Nosaj Thing, but always keeping an even keel of head nodders bounce. Your attention span won’t be challenged as most tracks are in and out in under 3minutes, but those ideas will entertain the beat heads who love a good chop, from the sliced Nintendo samples of ‘Circuit Breakin’ to the swampy compressions of ‘Lumberjack’ and the murdered 8-bit saturation of ‘Rengade Slap’, a collab with Devonwho. Best of all however, must be the plastic squeeze of ‘Clocked Out’ and the crooked lazer synth calibrations of ‘Life Force’ primed for your next computer chair vision quest.”


01. Eternia
02. Phantom Power
03. Dusty Lungz
04. Atombreakin
05. Lumberjack
06. Neighborhood Watch
07. Skullcrack
08. Circuit Breaking
09. Clocked Out
10. Dubwreck
11. Price Is Righteous
12. Life Force
13. 3 Way Mirrors
14. Renegade Slap (Devonwho Collab)
15. Abstract


Where Am I?

You are currently browsing the Instrumental category at Inner Broken Record.