Tom Waits – Alice (Original Demos)

December 30, 2013 § Leave a comment


1 There’s Only Alice
2 And No One Knows I’m Gone
3 Table Top Joe
4 Komme Nie Zu Spat
5 Hang Me In The Bottle
6 Down The Reeperbahn
7 One, Two And Through
8 Everything You Can Think Of Is True
9 …But There’s Never A Rose
10 What Became Of Old Father Craft
11 Chained Together For Life
12 Falling Down The Lane
13 Untitled
14 Instrumental Piece 1
15 Instrumental Piece 2
16 Instrumental Piece 3
17 Instrumental Piece 4
18 Instrumental Piece 5
19 Instrumental Piece 6
20 Instrumental Piece 7
21 Instrumental Piece 8
22 Instrumental Piece 9
23 Instrumental Piece 10



Wilburn Burchette – Guitar Grimoire (1973)

June 25, 2013 § Leave a comment


Moments of this remind me of Willie Lanes album Recliner Ragas. Really really good.

Get it here

Daniel Lecht – Fireheart/Fireriver Music for Guitars 6 & 12 String Solos & Collaborations (1977)

June 25, 2013 § 2 Comments









Found this on Ebay, Seems to be self released. Get a load of that album art. Pretty decent record too.

Get it here

Mark Lang – Texas John Boscoe

June 25, 2013 § Leave a comment


Had a hard time acquiring a copy of this record. Really great guitar soli music in the vein of Leo Kotke or John Fahey. Brother of Takoma guitarist Peter Lang. Recorded at Sound 80 studio.

Get it here

Sacred Harp – Feast Of The Green Corn (C32)

April 3, 2012 § Leave a comment


Purchase a limited edition of Sacred Harp’s Feast of the Green Corn tape from Mirror Universe, I swear it’ll make you burn your bra and sell your Mustang.


The Dove Azima – S/T

November 22, 2011 § Leave a comment

“Moving to the outer fringes of psych-folk, The Dove Azima is a deeply American recording. This solo project of Zack Hay has folk sensibilities much like John Fahey’s and hearkens to roots music from an era before the cultural tributaries of rock, country, and folk had parted ways. American avant-gardists have also crept much more into Hay’s sound since his last, more straightforward album, Bronze Horse. Hay himself had written of his interest in naïve experiences with guitar and he seems to have stumbled upon the steel string’s extended faculties a la Eugene Chadbourne; extended guitar techniques in general are almost never as visceral and hypnotic as they are on this LP, however. Hay’s detuned meditations can sometimes sound as weird as Jandek or sometimes lush and heady like Harry Partch’s microtonalities. Like a decayed American flag you found buried in the woods, The Dove Azima is one of the more brilliant pieces of Americana I’ve ever heard. It begs for many repeated listens and one oughtn’t neglect such a request.” – Nat Roe, WFMU


Madlib Medicine Show #7: High Jazz

April 15, 2011 § Leave a comment

Pre-order for 3LP and CD. Expected release date: July 27.

Madlib Medicine Show #7: High Jazz is an all-new Madlib jazz production. High Jazz, the name itself a tribute to the landmark jazz-fusion album released by Stanton Davis’s Ghetto Mysticism in 1976, shows a marked development in Madlib’s craft.

Since the introduction of Madlib’s Yesterdays New Quintet releases nearly a decade ago, the producer’s core group of musicians and collaborators (known collectively as “Yesterdays Universe”) has grown by the dozens. The notoriously elusive, publicity-shy and anti-commercial ethic of the group has kept many of the recordings from every being released, while others have been pressed anonymously, kept within the group or distributed only among private collectors.

Among the newly released tracks on High Jazz are a Madlib, Karriem Riggins & James Poyser collaboration, the debut of groups Generation Match, The Big Black Foot Band, RMC, and a 15-minute live piece by Yesterdays New Quintet (recorded at a secret show in 2000). The 15-track album runs a total of 61 minutes.

Limited edition 3-disc vinyl: Madlib has collected an additional 30 minutes of music for the limited edition vinyl release of High Jazz. These tracks are not available on the CD or digital release. Album covers will be hand screened by Hit+Run with a design by Jeff Jank, and individually numbered. See photos below.

Album track list:

1. The Jackson Conti Band – Steppin’ Into Tomorrow (Prelude)
2. Generation Match – Electronic Dimensions
3. Jahari Massamba Unit – Pretty Eyes
4. The Kenny Cook Octet – High Jazz
5. Yesterdays New Quintet – Medley: Don’t You Worry Bout A Thing (Live At Spear for The Moondog)
6. Interlude
7. The Big Black Foot Band, feat. The Black Spirits – Reality or Dream
8. Russell Jenkins Jazz Express – Drunk Again
9. Poyser, Riggins & Jackson – Funky Butt, Part 1 (MP3)
10. Jahari Massamba Unit – Wonderin’/Nightime
11. R.M.C. – Space & Time
12. Yesterdays New Quintet – Conquistador
13. The Big Black Foot Band, feat. The Black Spirits – Tarzan’s Theme
14. Interlude
15. Joe McDuphrey Experience – Kimo

Bonus LP track list:

1. Jahari Masamba Unit – Falling
2. Yesterdays New Quintet – Runnin’ Fast (On The Runs)
3. Sound Directions, feat. Malcolm Catto – Shady Cops
4. The Eddie Prince Fusion Band – The Struggle Is Over/Next Chapter
5. O.D. – Wasted (Themes Variations)

Where Am I?

You are currently browsing the Psychedelic category at Inner Broken Record.