Lata Mangeshkar – Meera Bhajans

May 4, 2012 § Leave a comment


Side A
01. Sanvaro Nandnandan
02. Kinun Sang Khelun Holi
03. Mhara Re Giridhar Gopal
04. Thane Kanee Kanee Sunava
Side B
01. Maee Mhano Supnama Parnare Dinanath
02. Oji Hari Kit Gaye
03. Ramaiya Bin Nind Na Aave
04. Sanvara Mari Preet
I looked everywhere for this tape on ebay and couldn’t find it luckily someone uploaded these lovely Flac versions. The magnificent Lata Mangeshkar singing Bhajans (Indian devotional songs).  This stuff really speaks for itself.
FLAC: Side A   Side B

Sacred Harp – Feast Of The Green Corn (C32)

April 3, 2012 § Leave a comment


Purchase a limited edition of Sacred Harp’s Feast of the Green Corn tape from Mirror Universe, I swear it’ll make you burn your bra and sell your Mustang.


The Dove Azima – S/T

November 22, 2011 § Leave a comment

“Moving to the outer fringes of psych-folk, The Dove Azima is a deeply American recording. This solo project of Zack Hay has folk sensibilities much like John Fahey’s and hearkens to roots music from an era before the cultural tributaries of rock, country, and folk had parted ways. American avant-gardists have also crept much more into Hay’s sound since his last, more straightforward album, Bronze Horse. Hay himself had written of his interest in naïve experiences with guitar and he seems to have stumbled upon the steel string’s extended faculties a la Eugene Chadbourne; extended guitar techniques in general are almost never as visceral and hypnotic as they are on this LP, however. Hay’s detuned meditations can sometimes sound as weird as Jandek or sometimes lush and heady like Harry Partch’s microtonalities. Like a decayed American flag you found buried in the woods, The Dove Azima is one of the more brilliant pieces of Americana I’ve ever heard. It begs for many repeated listens and one oughtn’t neglect such a request.” – Nat Roe, WFMU


Madvillain – Papermill

April 15, 2011 § Leave a comment


Madlib Medicine Show #7: High Jazz

April 15, 2011 § Leave a comment

Pre-order for 3LP and CD. Expected release date: July 27.

Madlib Medicine Show #7: High Jazz is an all-new Madlib jazz production. High Jazz, the name itself a tribute to the landmark jazz-fusion album released by Stanton Davis’s Ghetto Mysticism in 1976, shows a marked development in Madlib’s craft.

Since the introduction of Madlib’s Yesterdays New Quintet releases nearly a decade ago, the producer’s core group of musicians and collaborators (known collectively as “Yesterdays Universe”) has grown by the dozens. The notoriously elusive, publicity-shy and anti-commercial ethic of the group has kept many of the recordings from every being released, while others have been pressed anonymously, kept within the group or distributed only among private collectors.

Among the newly released tracks on High Jazz are a Madlib, Karriem Riggins & James Poyser collaboration, the debut of groups Generation Match, The Big Black Foot Band, RMC, and a 15-minute live piece by Yesterdays New Quintet (recorded at a secret show in 2000). The 15-track album runs a total of 61 minutes.

Limited edition 3-disc vinyl: Madlib has collected an additional 30 minutes of music for the limited edition vinyl release of High Jazz. These tracks are not available on the CD or digital release. Album covers will be hand screened by Hit+Run with a design by Jeff Jank, and individually numbered. See photos below.

Album track list:

1. The Jackson Conti Band – Steppin’ Into Tomorrow (Prelude)
2. Generation Match – Electronic Dimensions
3. Jahari Massamba Unit – Pretty Eyes
4. The Kenny Cook Octet – High Jazz
5. Yesterdays New Quintet – Medley: Don’t You Worry Bout A Thing (Live At Spear for The Moondog)
6. Interlude
7. The Big Black Foot Band, feat. The Black Spirits – Reality or Dream
8. Russell Jenkins Jazz Express – Drunk Again
9. Poyser, Riggins & Jackson – Funky Butt, Part 1 (MP3)
10. Jahari Massamba Unit – Wonderin’/Nightime
11. R.M.C. – Space & Time
12. Yesterdays New Quintet – Conquistador
13. The Big Black Foot Band, feat. The Black Spirits – Tarzan’s Theme
14. Interlude
15. Joe McDuphrey Experience – Kimo

Bonus LP track list:

1. Jahari Masamba Unit – Falling
2. Yesterdays New Quintet – Runnin’ Fast (On The Runs)
3. Sound Directions, feat. Malcolm Catto – Shady Cops
4. The Eddie Prince Fusion Band – The Struggle Is Over/Next Chapter
5. O.D. – Wasted (Themes Variations)

Dibiase – Machines Hate me

April 15, 2011 § Leave a comment

“Debut full length LP steez from LA’s Dibiase, following impressive drops for Fat City and All City records. Those releases called for comparisons with Madlib, Dilla and a whole heap of slump-funked producers who’re taking inspiration from ’80s boogiesoul and computer games; the ambient sound of half-remembered innocence. With these influences and adjuncts in mind Dibiase gives fifteen tracks of staggered MPC beats, perhaps erring more towards the electronic and ADD-afflicted style of Flying Lotus or Nosaj Thing, but always keeping an even keel of head nodders bounce. Your attention span won’t be challenged as most tracks are in and out in under 3minutes, but those ideas will entertain the beat heads who love a good chop, from the sliced Nintendo samples of ‘Circuit Breakin’ to the swampy compressions of ‘Lumberjack’ and the murdered 8-bit saturation of ‘Rengade Slap’, a collab with Devonwho. Best of all however, must be the plastic squeeze of ‘Clocked Out’ and the crooked lazer synth calibrations of ‘Life Force’ primed for your next computer chair vision quest.”


01. Eternia
02. Phantom Power
03. Dusty Lungz
04. Atombreakin
05. Lumberjack
06. Neighborhood Watch
07. Skullcrack
08. Circuit Breaking
09. Clocked Out
10. Dubwreck
11. Price Is Righteous
12. Life Force
13. 3 Way Mirrors
14. Renegade Slap (Devonwho Collab)
15. Abstract


Logan Sequin

March 11, 2011 § Leave a comment

This has got to be the best soundtrack for a non-existent film I’ve ever heard. Logan Sequin SS-VNTRX-34000-Original Film Soundtrack